Link

July 6 Book Club: “Good Eggs” by Rebecca Hardiman

When a home aide arrives to assist a rambunctious family at a crossroads, simmering tensions boil over in this “witty, exuberant debut” (People) that is an “absolute delight from start to finish” (Sarah Haywood, New York Times bestselling author)—perfect for fans of Where’d You Go, Bernadette and Evvie Drake Starts Over.

When Kevin Gogarty’s eighty-three-year-old mother is caught shoplifting yet again, he has no choice but to hire a caretaker to keep an eye on her. Kevin, recently unemployed, is already at his wits’ end tending to a full house while his wife travels to exotic locales for work, leaving him solo with his sulky, misbehaved teenaged daughter. Into the Gogarty fray steps Sylvia, the upbeat home aide, who appears at first to be their saving grace—until she catapults the Gogarty clan into their greatest crisis yet.

“Bracing, hilarious, warm” (Judy Blundell, New York Times bestselling author), Good Eggs is an irresistibly charming study in self-determination; the notion that it’s never too late to start living; and the unique redemption that family, despite its maddening flaws, can offer.

Buy Book

 

journeyofthemind

Philosophical Book Club: “Journey of the Mind: How Thinking Emerged from Chaos” by Ogi Ogas, Sai Gaddam

Two neuroscientists reveal why consciousness exists and how it works by examining eighteen increasingly intelligent minds, from microbes to humankind—and beyond. Why do you exist? How did atoms and molecules transform into sentient creatures that experience longing, regret, compassion, and even marvel at their own existence? What does it truly mean to have a mind—to […]

apeirogon

“Apeirogon” by Colum McCann

Review by Marc Murr “End the Occupation.” “End the Preoccupation.”   At last, award-winning author Colum McCann blasts through the American media blackout Wall with this revealing masterpiece about the tragedy of the illegal Israeli Occupation of Palestine. It is “Occupation, humiliation, murder, torture.” Like the two birds depicted on its cover, this nonfiction account […]

nickelboy-1

“Nickel Boys” by Colson Whitehead

Reviewed by Adrienne Murr “The Nickel Boys” is, in short, an outstanding investigation into the role of race and racial prejudice in the lives of young boys during the 1960s. We follow the story of Elwood Curtis, a black teenager in Tallahassee. With his sights set on attending college courses in his best suit, a […]