Book Reviews

Read & Written By The Book Nook Patrons

Recent Reviews

gunsgerms

Philosophical Book Club: “Guns, Germs, and Steel” by Jared Diamond

In this fascinating treatise, Diamond argues against ingrained racist theories about conquerors and the conquered and proposes a convincing idea of his own. Winner of the Pulitzer Prize • New York Times Bestseller • Over Two Million Copies Sold “One of the most significant projects embarked upon by any intellectual of our generation” (Gregg Easterbrook, New York […]

existentialPhysics

Philosophical Book Club: “Existential Physics” by Sabine Hossenfelder

A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER “An informed and entertaining guide to what science can and cannot tell us.” —The Wall Street Journal “Stimulating . . . encourage[s] readers to push past well-trod assumptions […] and have fun doing so.” —Science Magazine From renowned physicist and creator of the YouTube series “Science without the Gobbledygook,” a book that takes […]

Browse Reviews

circe

November 2nd Book Club: “Circe” by Madeline Miller

A journey to self-discovery of epic proportions, Circe is a retelling from the queen of mythology herself: Madeline Miller. A lyrical, action-packed dive into the origin of an unforgettable and unparalleled woman, Circe cements herself in the pantheon of stories that must not be missed. Circe shares her scars, her broken parts, and in doing so, speaks […]

gunsgerms

Philosophical Book Club: “Guns, Germs, and Steel” by Jared Diamond

In this fascinating treatise, Diamond argues against ingrained racist theories about conquerors and the conquered and proposes a convincing idea of his own. Winner of the Pulitzer Prize • New York Times Bestseller • Over Two Million Copies Sold “One of the most significant projects embarked upon by any intellectual of our generation” (Gregg Easterbrook, New York […]

existentialPhysics

Philosophical Book Club: “Existential Physics” by Sabine Hossenfelder

A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER “An informed and entertaining guide to what science can and cannot tell us.” —The Wall Street Journal “Stimulating . . . encourage[s] readers to push past well-trod assumptions […] and have fun doing so.” —Science Magazine From renowned physicist and creator of the YouTube series “Science without the Gobbledygook,” a book that takes […]

capturecastle

October 5 Book Club: “I Capture the Castle” by Dodie Smith

One of the 20th century’s most beloved novels is still winning hearts, Dodie Smith’s I Capture the Castle! “This book has one of the most charismatic narrators I’ve ever met.” — J.K. Rowling, author of the Harry Potter series Adapted to a feature film in 2003, I Capture the Castle tells the story of seventeen-year-old Cassandra and her family, who […]

lastduel

September 7 Book Club: “The Last Duel” by Eric Jager

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • NOW A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE • “A taut page-turner with all the hallmarks of a good historical thriller.”—Orlando Sentinel The gripping true story of the duel to end all duels in medieval France as a resolute knight defends his wife’s honor against the man she accuses of a heinous crime […]

6glasses

Philosophical Book Club: History of the World in 6 Glasses

How often a new lens opens a whole new world! And what a new vista Tom Standage, deputy editor for The Economist, opens up for readers. The whole of human history divided into six eras, each defined by a different beverage. Six glasses: from beer, wine and spirits through coffee, tea and Coca-Cola. Set your course […]

ohwilliam

August 3 Book Club: “Oh, William!” by Elizabeth Strout

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • Pulitzer Prize winner Elizabeth Strout explores the mysteries of marriage and the secrets we keep, as a former couple reckons with where they’ve come from—and what they’ve left behind. ONE OF THE TEN BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR: Maureen Corrigan, NPR’s Fresh Air • ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR: The New York […]

Link

July 6 Book Club: “Good Eggs” by Rebecca Hardiman

When a home aide arrives to assist a rambunctious family at a crossroads, simmering tensions boil over in this “witty, exuberant debut” (People) that is an “absolute delight from start to finish” (Sarah Haywood, New York Times bestselling author)—perfect for fans of Where’d You Go, Bernadette and Evvie Drake Starts Over.

When Kevin Gogarty’s eighty-three-year-old mother is caught shoplifting yet again, he has no choice but to hire a caretaker to keep an eye on her. Kevin, recently unemployed, is already at his wits’ end tending to a full house while his wife travels to exotic locales for work, leaving him solo with his sulky, misbehaved teenaged daughter. Into the Gogarty fray steps Sylvia, the upbeat home aide, who appears at first to be their saving grace—until she catapults the Gogarty clan into their greatest crisis yet.

“Bracing, hilarious, warm” (Judy Blundell, New York Times bestselling author), Good Eggs is an irresistibly charming study in self-determination; the notion that it’s never too late to start living; and the unique redemption that family, despite its maddening flaws, can offer.

Buy Book

 

crossroads

June 1 Book Club: “Crossroads” by Jonathan Franzen

Jonathan Franzen’s gift for wedding depth and vividness of character with breadth of social vision has never been more dazzlingly evident than in Crossroads. It’s December 23, 1971, and heavy weather is forecast for Chicago. Russ Hildebrandt, the associate pastor of a liberal suburban church, is on the brink of breaking free of a marriage he […]

savagecity

May 4 Book Club: “Savage City” by Donald Levin

Detroit. 1932. The fates of four people converge during a violent week of labor unrest in the bleakest year of the Great Depression. Detective Clarence Brown is one of a handful of Black officers in the Detroit Police Department, navigating a thicket of lies and racism to find the killer of a young Black man. […]

anomaly

April 6, 2022 Book Club: “The Anomaly” by Hervé Le Tellier

A New York Times bestseller and a “Best Thriller of the Year” Winner of the Goncourt Prize and now an international phenomenon, this dizzying, whip-smart novel blends crime, fantasy, sci-fi, and thriller as it plumbs the mysteries surrounding a Paris-New York flight. Who would we be if we had made different choices? Told that secret, left that […]

Titles

Order Books Online

Get your books the way you want and support our nook with every purchase!
ORDER BOOKS ›

What Our Visitors Are Saying

Relaxing atmosphere for a coffee meeting. Tables are spaced out for social distancing. This stop sells a variety of items such as local art, games, toys, clothing accessories, and BOOKS!

Colleen Gibson
Colleen Gibson From Google

I have been to the Book Nook several times. It is a unique place. Love the music!

Diann Neil Engblade
Diann Neil Engblade From Google

Great place l went to grab some breakfast and looked around the store while I was waiting. Had a breakfast bowl with eggs potato spinach sausage was very good. A nice place they do have a patio where you can eat and drink but at the moment your not able to eat inside. Would happily go back really nice place.

Lee Draper
Lee Draper From Google

Wonderful little Bookstore and Cafe in out of the way Montague Michigan. Good selection of books for it's size, wonderful ambiance and good food and wine. And friendly bookstore dog too.

Garry Post
Garry Post From Google